2016 High School Mooting Competition Finals

The La Trobe Law School High School Mooting Competition was launched in 2011 and is open to Year 11 legal studies students from partner schools in Melbourne’s North and regional communities in Bendigo. Following three days of preliminary rounds in the Law School’s brand new moot court, the semi-finals, as well as the grand final took place on Thursday 2 June 2016 at the Federal Court in Melbourne. It was a very tight competition and the trophy was ultimately awarded to St Monica’s College. Judges and spectators alike commented on the outstanding standard of performance. The research, advocacy skills and composure of the year 11 students were remarkable.

The Law School is very grateful to guest judges Julian P. McMahon and Karen Argiropoulos, as well as to all the academics and students who participated in and helped organise the competition this year: Ms Pascale Chifflet, Ms Ashley Angus, Head of La Trobe Law School Professor Patrick Keyzer, Dr Steven Tudor, Mr Ben Walsh, Dr Emma Henderson, Dr Jeffrey Barnes, Dr Ozlem Susler, Ms Derya Siva and Ms Nicole Shackleton. Special thanks are also owed to School Partnerships Coordinator Ms Jenny Snelling, as well as our wonderful students, past and present, who enthusiastically helped judge the numerous moots held during the three days of rounds: Kirtan Swamy, Bec Wyllie, Annmarie Geros, Jake McCahon, Monique Di Gregorio, Madison Aloisi, Katherine Arditto, and Annmarie Geros and Jake McCahon who tipstaffed for the grand final. La Trobe Law School would also like to thank the La Trobe University Library for running a very useful legal research workshop for the competing students.

The competition was a great success and we look forward to the 2017 edition.


La Trobe